South America > Chile


Chile stretches like a long sliver along the western coast of South America yielding many different climactic zones within the country. Administratively the country is divided into 15 regions, but only in the central ones has viticulture been successful. The valleys draining westward from the Andes Mountains provide fertile ground for grapegrowing. Chaptalization is illegal, limiting how far south grapes can be grown but phylloxera has never made its way to the country.

Viticultural Regións:

Aconcagua Valley
Bio Bio Valley
Casablanca Valley
Central Valley
Elqui Valley
Itata Valley
Limari Valley
Malleco Valley
San Antonio Valley

This page last modified: 16 August 2008 by TheWineRater.